Al Ahly Al Ittihad Al Masry Arab Contractors Gouna ENPPI Hodood Ismaily Petrojet Smouha Wadi Degla Zamalek Arsenal FC Basel Hull City AS Roma Lierse SK SC Braga Nacional Madeira Sporting Lisbon

Egyptian Premier League postponed again

Posted on November 26, 2013

The is set to be postponed once more according to the board due to delayed security clearance.

The new date is set at the 26th of December however, it is not yet known if that date is final as it has already been postponed twice before as the original date of kick-off was set to the 23rd of November.

In addition to this there is a clash between and the board members over the sponsorship and the broadcast rights as they threatened to sell their rights individually.

Regarding the draw which was set to be made on the 25th of November, it has also been postponed to the the 2nd of December as it needs to take place with the attendance of all 22 teams but was postponed as representatives from Al Ahly and never made it, according to Ahram.

Concerning the structure, the representatives of the clubs that are participating have decided the that the new season would include the participation of 22 teams divided into two groups of 11. Al Ahly and ENPPI in one group while Zamalek, Ismaily and Al Masry in the other.

The winner of Group A is set to face the second placed team in Group B while the winner of Group B will face the second placed team in Group A in a semi-final, according to Zamalek president , who is also on the league committee.

The two winners will then face each other to determine the champion, while five teams will be relegated so that the following season will consist of 20 teams.

“Five teams will get relegated with the bottom two of each group set for automatic relegation, while the two teams placed third from bottom will face each other and the loser will accompany the other relegated four,” Darwish said.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *