Al Ahly Al Ittihad Al Masry Arab Contractors Gouna ENPPI Hodood Ismaily Petrojet Smouha Wadi Degla Zamalek Arsenal FC Basel Hull City AS Roma Lierse SK SC Braga Nacional Madeira Sporting Lisbon

Al Ahly win unprecedented 37th league title following Smouha stalemate

Posted on July 8, 2014

Al Ahly win league title
Al Ahly played out a 0-0 draw against Smouha at the Cairo International Stadium to win an unprecedented 37th league title.

The Red Devils were in need for a draw to win their eighth league title in a row, while Smouha needed nothing else but a win.

After a cagey start to the first half, Mahmoud Hassan ‘Trezeguet’ should’ve put the Red Castle ahead when he went one-on-one with Amir Abdelhamid but he failed to wrap his foot around the ball.

The start to the second half however was much more eventful and Al Ahly could’ve made it 1-0 if it wasn’t for Amir Abdelhamid who cleared the ball in the nick of time before Amr Gamal could latch onto it.

The Red Devils were dealt a blow soon after when Mohamed Naguib was stretchered off after a collision with Sherif Hazem.

Hany El-Egeizy had the chance to put Smouha in the lead but his volley went over the bar.

Five minutes from time and Fathi Mabrouk’s men were dealt another blow when captain Hossam Ashour received his marching orders for a second yellow.

El-Egeizy had another chance to give the Blues the lead but his left-footed shot was handled by Sherif Ekramy.

The Blues were dealt a blow of their own when Tarek Hamed was sent off after a challenge on Mohamed Hassan, which resulted in his second yellow.

With three minutes of added time remaining, Amr Gamal went one-on-one with Amir Abdelhamid but Ahmed Said ‘Okka’ managed to put the ball out for a corner

In the dying minutes of the game, the Alexandrians could’ve nicked it when Hisham Fathallah launched a cross into the box but Ekramy managed to grab hold of it.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *