Al Ahly Al Ittihad Al Masry Arab Contractors Gouna ENPPI Hodood Ismaily Petrojet Smouha Wadi Degla Zamalek Arsenal FC Basel Hull City AS Roma Lierse SK SC Braga Nacional Madeira Sporting Lisbon

Gourcuff names Algeria squad for AFCON qualifiers

Posted on August 26, 2014

Algeria squadFrenchman Christian Gourcuff released ’s 27-man squad for the 2015 Africa Cup of Nations qualifiers next month.

Gourcuff made his first squad selection as Algeria’s national team coach; for the AFCON qualifying matches in September against Ethiopia and Mali on the 6th and 10th respectively.

The 27-man squad is largely made up of the players present in the World Cup campaign that saw Algeria reach the last sixteen, bar Mehdi Mostefa, Foued Kadir and Hassan Yebda.

In their place are returnees Boudebouz, Belfodil and Chaouchi. There is also a first-time call up in Olympique Lyon full-back Mehdi Zeffane.

Despite the suspension of domestic football activities, following Albert Ebosse’s death, Algeria head into the qualifiers under a confident atmosphere having maintained their number one spot in Africa in the FIFA rankings and witnessed the transfer of key players to fresh new clubs: Taider moving to Southampton and Brahimi joining FC Porto.


Goalkeepers: Rais M’Bolhi (Philadelphia Union, USA), Si Mohammed Cedric (CS Constantine), Mohammed Zemmamouche (USM Alger), Faouzi Chaouchi (MC Alger).

Defenders: Essaid Belkalem (Trabzonspor, Turkey), Madjid Bougherra (Al Fujairah, UAE), Liassine Cadamuro (Real Sociedad, Spain), Faouzi Ghoulam (Napoli, Italy), Rafik Halliche (Qatar Club, Qatar), Aissa Mandi (Stade de Reims, France), Carl Medjani (Trabzonspor, Turkey), Djamel Mesbah (FC Parma, Italy), Mehdi Zeffane (Olympique Lyon, France).

Midfielders: Nabil Bentaleb (Tottenham Hotspur, England), Ryad Boudebouz (SC Bastia, France), Yacine Brahimi (FC Porto, Portugal), Abdelmoumene Djabou (Club Africain, Tunisia), Sofiane Feghouli (Valencia, Spain), Adlene Guedioura (Crystal Palace, England), Amir Karaoui (MC Alger), Mehdi Lacen (Getafe, Spain), Riyad Mahrez (Leicester City, England), Saphir Taider (Southampton, England).

Forwards: Ishak Belfodil (FC Parma, Italy), Nabil Ghilas (FC Porto, Portugal), Islam Slimani (Sporting Lisbon, Portugal), El Arbi Soudani (Dinamo Zagreb, Croatia).

One Comment

  1. Mali?

    August 26, 2014 at 10:09 PM

    Why they always have to face Mali?. lol. Guess there gonna be so much tension as the next AFCON is in Morocco. They hate each other.

Leave a Reply