Al Ahly Al Ittihad Al Masry Arab Contractors Gouna ENPPI Hodood Ismaily Petrojet Smouha Wadi Degla Zamalek Arsenal FC Basel Hull City AS Roma Lierse SK SC Braga Nacional Madeira Sporting Lisbon

North African squads for 2017 AFCON qualifiers announced

Posted on August 28, 2015

AFCON 2015

The squads for , , and  set to feature in the upcoming round of qualifiers have all been announced. 

’s squad can be viewed here.

Morocco head coach Baddou Ezzaki has named his 25-man squad for the Group F 2017 AFCON qualifier tie against Sao Tome.

Omitted from the squad are Bayern Munich’s Medhi Benatia, Sofiane Boufale of Lille, club-less Houssine Kharja, Marouane Chamakh, and AC Milan wonder-kid Hachim Mastour.

Morocco are second in their group after beating 1-0 in June. Opponents Sao Tome are bottom after losing 7-1 to Table toppers Cape Verde.

Morocco squad to face Sao Tome:

Goalkeepers: Yassine Bounou (Real Zaragoza), Munir Mohand (Numancia), Amine El Bourkadi (OCK).

Defenders: Abderrahim Achakir (AS FAR), Manuel Da Costa (Olympiakos), Mohamed Oulhaj (Raja Casablanca Athletic), Mohamed Aberhoun (Moghreb Tetouan), Nabil Dirar (AS Monaco), Issam El Adoua (CHONGQING LIFAN), Achraf Lazaar (Palermo), Fouad Chafik (Laval), Rochdi Achenteh (Vitesse).

Midfielders: Karim El Ahmadi (Feyenoord), Mounir Obbadi (Lille), Jamal Ait Ben Idir (Wydad Athletic Club), Oussama Assaidi (Al Ahli Dubai), Ahmed El Messaoudi (Standard de Liège), Noureddine Amrabat (Malaga), Omar El Kaddouri (Napoli), Marwane Saadane (FUS Rabat).

Forwards: Aatif Chahechouhe (Sivasspor), Mouhcine Iajour (Qatar), Bouldini Mohamed (RCA), Youssef El Arabi (Granada), Yacine Bammou (Nantes)

In-form USM Alger striker Youcef Belaili has been left out of Algeria’s AFCON qualifier Squad against Lesotho.

The former Esperance de Tunis striker was crucial in helping USM Alger to become the first club to win all their five opening matches in CAF Champions League group stages.

Algeria are in Group J alongside Ethiopia, Lesotho and Seychelles.

Algeria squad to face Lesotho:

Goalkeepers: Malik Asselah (CR Belouizdad), Azzedine Doukha (JS Kabylie), Sofiane Khedairia (ES Setif).

Defenders: Hocine Benayada (USM Alger), Hichem Belkaroui (Club Africain), Faouzi Ghoulam (SSC Napoli), Abderahmane Hachoud (MC Alger), Nacereddine Khoualed (USM Alger), Aïssa Mandi (Stade de Reims), Carl Medjani (Trabzonspor), Mehdi Zeffane (Stade Rennais FC).

Midfielders: Nabil Bentaleb (Tottenham), Ryad Boudebouz (Montpellier HSC), Yacine Brahimi (FC Porto), Sofiane Feghouli (Valencia CF), Ahmed Kashi (Charlton AFC), Riyad Mahrez (Leicester City FC), Walid Mesloub (FC Lorient), Saphir Taider (Inter Milan).

Forwards: Ishak Belfodil (Baniyas SC), Baghdad Bounedjah (ES Sahel), Islam Slimani (Sporting CP), El-Arabi Hilal Soudani (Dinamo Zagreb)

Tunisia manager Henryk Kasperczak has relied heavily on Etoile Sportive du Sahel when selecting his 25-man squad for his team’s qualifier against Liberia, selecting nine-players from the Sousse-based outfit.

Aymen Abdennour, linked with several clubs after AS Monaco’s failure to qualify for the Chmapions League, has been selected, as have been several other players plying their trade abroad.

Tunisia squad to face Liberia:

Goalkeepers: Aymen Mathlouthi, Farouk Ben Mustapha, Moez Ben Cherifia

Defenders: Aymen Abdennour (AS Monaco), Ghazi Abdel-Razak (Etoile du Sahel), Mohamed Amine Ben Amor (Etoile), Selim Ben Djemia (CS Sfaxien), Syam Ben Youssef (Caen), Hamdi Naguez (Etoile), Hamza Mathlouthi (Club Bizertin), Zied Boughattas (Etoile)

Midfielders: Yassine Chikhaoui (Al Gharafa), Wahbi Khazri (Bordeaux), Hamza Lahmar (Etoile),  Mohamed Methnani (El Jaish SC), Youssef Msakni (Lekhwiya SC), Mohamed Ali Moncer (Sfaxien), Houcine Ragued(Esperance de Tunis), Alaya Brigui (Etoile)

Forwards: Fakhreddine Ben Youssef (Esperance), Amine Chermiti (FC Zürich), Saber Khalifa (Club Africain)


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *