Al Ahly Al Ittihad Al Masry Arab Contractors Gouna ENPPI Hodood Ismaily Petrojet Smouha Wadi Degla Zamalek Arsenal FC Basel Hull City AS Roma Lierse SK SC Braga Nacional Madeira Sporting Lisbon

Algeria release list of 23 man squad for AFCON 2017

Posted on December 31, 2016


coach, George Leekens has confirmed his squad for the in Gabon.

The biggest surprise of the Desert Foxes’ 23 man team is the exclusion of the captain and vice-captain of the team. Carl Medjani and Sofiane Feghouli will not feature for Algeria in Gabon.

Another surprise by Leekens has been the inclusion of upto 10 players who will be making their major tournament debut for Algeria. This includes a decent number of players based in Africa.

Otherwise their squad is familiar, Leicester duo Riyad Mahrez and Islam Slimani have been called up. So has, Porto midfielder, Yacine Brahimi.

Full Squad:

Goalkeepers: Raïs Ouhab M’bolhi (Antalyaspor -Turkey), Malik Asselah (JS Kabylie), Chemseddine Rahmani (MO Béjaïa)

Defenders: Mokhtar Belkhiter (Club Africain -Tunisia), Mohamed Rabie Meftah (USM Alger), Aïssa Mandi (Real Bétis – Spain), Hicham Belkaroui (Espérance de Tunis -Tunisia), Liassine Cadamuro (Servette Genève -Switzerland), Mohamed Benyahia (USM Alger), Ramy Bensebaïni (Stade Rennais -France), Faouzi Ghoulam (SSC Napoli – Italy), Djamel Eddine Mesbah (FC Crotone -Italy)

Midfielders: Adlène Guedioura (Watford FC – England), Saphir Taïder (Bologna FC -Italy), Nabil Bentaleb (Schalke 04 – Germany), Mehdi Abeid (Dijon FCO -France), Yassine Brahimi (FC Porto -Portugal), Rachid Ghezzal (Olympique Lyonnais -France)

Forwards: Islam Slimani (Leicester City FC – England), Riyad Mahrez (Leicester City FC – England), Hillal El Arabi Soudani (Dinamo Zagreb -Croatia), Baghdad Bounedjah (Al Sadd -Qatar), Sofiane Hanni (RSC Anderlecht – Belgium)

Algeria’s only AFCON title remains the home truimph in 1990, despite starting the last few Africa Cup of Nations tournaments among the favourites.

They are the third team to confirm their final squad for AFCON 2015. Gabon have also released their final squad as have Senegal. Their squad is headlined by Sadio Mané.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *