Al Ahly Al Ittihad Al Masry Arab Contractors Gouna ENPPI Hodood Ismaily Petrojet Smouha Wadi Degla Zamalek Arsenal FC Basel Hull City AS Roma Lierse SK SC Braga Nacional Madeira Sporting Lisbon

Guinea Bissau announce final AFCON squad

Posted on January 6, 2017
Guinea Bissau announce final AFCON squad

Photo: Jan Kruger/Getty Images

Guinea Bissau head coach has released a 23-man squad for the Africa Cup of Nations set to take place between Jan. 14 and Feb. 5 in Gabon.

, who were drawn in Group A alongside hosts Gabon, Burkina Faso and Cameroon, will embark on their first ever AFCON campaign on Jan. 14 against Gabon at the Stade de l’Amitié.

Cande’s squad is entirely made up of foreign-based players; most of them ply their trade in European leagues.

Goalkeeper Papa Massé Mbaye Fall, who was a center of controversy that left Guinea Bissau’s maiden AFCON appearance hanging in the balance after being suspected of being a Senegalese, has made it to the squad.

Despite several reports claiming that formal Portugal under-20 international Tomás Dabó will switch allegiance to Guinea-Bissau and feature for them in the AFCON, the defender wasn’t included in the final squad.

Squad List:

Goalkeepers: Jonas Mendes (Salgueiros, Portugal), Rui Dabo (Cova da Piedade, Portugal), Papa Massé Mbaye Fall (Aguadulce, Spain)

Defenders: Emmanuel Mendy (Ceahlaul, Romania), Rudinilson Silva (Lechia Gdansk, Poland), Juary Soares (Mafra, Portugal), Agostinho Soares (Sporting Covilha, Portugal), Mamadu Candé (Tondela, Portugal), Eridson Mendes Umpeça (Freamunde, Portugal)

Midfielders: Nani Soares (Felgueiras, Portugal), Jose Mendes Lopes Zezinho (Levadiakos, Greece), Bocoundji Ca (Reims, France), Tony Silva Brito (Levadiakos, Greece), Toni Silva (Levadiakos, Greece), Piqueti Djassi Brito (Braga), Idrissa Camara (Avellino, Italy), Jean Paul Mendy (US Quevilly-Rouen, France), Francisco Santos Junior (Strømsgodset, Norway), Lassana Camara Sana (Académico de Viseu, Portugal)

Forwards: Joao Mario Fernandes (Chaves, Portugal), Abel Issa Camara (Belenenses, Portugal), Amido Baldé (CS Marítimo, Protugal), Frederic Mendy (Ulsan Hyundai, South Korea)


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *