Al Ahly Al Ittihad Al Masry Arab Contractors Gouna ENPPI Hodood Ismaily Petrojet Smouha Wadi Degla Zamalek Arsenal FC Basel Hull City AS Roma Lierse SK SC Braga Nacional Madeira Sporting Lisbon

Zimbabwe name 23-man squad for Africa Cup of Nations

Posted on January 6, 2017


Photo: Football Association

Zimbabwe national team head coach Callisto Pasuwa has announced a 23-man squad for the 2017 Africa Cup of the nations set to be played between Jan. 14 and Feb. 5 in Gabon.

The Warriors were drawn in Group B along with Algeria, Senegal and Tunisia. They will kick off their campaign against Algeria on Jan. 15 at the Stade de Franceville.

Pasuwa’s squad is dominated by players from the Premier Soccer League of South Africa. It included Orlando Pirates hitman Tendai Ndoro and Mamelodi Sundowns’ Khama Billiat, who was named the second best African player of the year based in Africa.

Zimbabwe will play a friendly on Jan. 10 against Cameroon, who were drawn in Group A, in their final preparation for the AFCON.

Squad List:

Goalkeepers: Donovan Bernard (How Mine), Tatenda Mkuruva (Dynamos), Takabva Mawaya (Hwange)

Defenders: Costa Nhamoinesu (Sparta Praha, Czech Republic), Bruce Kangwa (Azam FC, Tanzania), Elisha Muroiwa (Dynamos), Hardlife Zvirekwi (Caps United), Oscar Machapa (AS Vita Club, Congo DR), Onismor Bhasera (Supersport United, South Africa), Lawrence Mhlanga, Teenage Hadebe (Chicken Inn)

Midfielders: Danny Phiri (Golden Arrows, South Africa), Willard Katsande (Kaizer Chiefs, South Africa), Khama Billiat (Mamelodi Sundowns, South Africa), Kudakwashe Mahachi (Golden Arrows, South Africa), Marvelous Nakamba (Vitesse Arnhem, Netherlands), Tinotenda Kadewere (Djuargardens, Sweden)

Forwards: Cuthbert Malajila (, South Africa), Evans Rusike (Maritzburg United, South Africa), Knowledge Musona (KV Oostende, Belgium), Nyasha Mushekwi (Dalian Yifang, China), Mathew Rusike (SC Sfaxien, Tunisia), Tendai Ndoro (Orlando Pirates, South Africa)


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *