Al Ahly Al Ittihad Al Masry Arab Contractors Gouna ENPPI Hodood Ismaily Petrojet Smouha Wadi Degla Zamalek Arsenal FC Basel Hull City AS Roma Lierse SK SC Braga Nacional Madeira Sporting Lisbon

Burkina Faso announce final AFCON squad

Posted on January 7, 2017
Burkina Faso announce final AFCON squad

Photo: Dean Mouhtaropoulos/Getty Images

manager Paulo Jorge Duarte has announced his final 23-man squad for the 2017 Africa Cup of Nations in Gabon.

The squad includes two -based players, Smouha’s  and , while Zamalek loanee Mohamed Koffi has failed to make the squad.

The Portuguese manager, who was appointed as Burkina Faso head coach in December 2015, has also excluded Ernest Congo and Issoumaila Lengani after they were included in the 25-man provisional squad list.

The 2013 AFCON runners-up were drawn in Group A along with hosts Gabon, Cameroon and Guinea-Bissau. They will kick off their campaign against Cameroon on January 14 at the Stade de l’Amitié in Libreville.

Burkina Faso squad:

Goalkeepers: Moussa Germain Sanou (Beauvais/FRA), Herve Koffi (ASEC Mimosas/CIV), Aboubacar Sawadogo (RC Kadiogo/BUR)

Defenders: Patrick Malo (Smouha/EGY), Issoufou Dayo (RC Berkane/MAR), Bakary Kone (Malaga/ESP), Issouf Paro (Santos/RSA), Steeve Yago (Toulouse/FRA), Souleymane Kouanda, (ASEC Mimosas/CIV), Yacouba Coulibaly (RC Bobo/BUR)

Midfielders: Charles Kabore (Krasnodar/RUS), Prejuce Nacoulma (Kayserispor/TUR), Alain Traore (Kayserispor/TUR), Bertrand Traore (Ajax/NED), Cyrille Bayala (Sheriff Tiraspol/MDA), Bakary Sare (Moreirense/POR), Blati Toure (Omonia/CYP), Adama Guira (Lens/FRA), Abdoul Razack Traore (Karabuspor/TUR), Jonathan Zongo (Almeria/ESP), Jonathan Pitroipa (Al Nasr/UAE)

Forwards: Aristide Bance (ASEC Mimosas/CIV), Banou Diawara (Smouha/EGY)

One Comment

  1. romeo

    February 10, 2017 at 11:08 PM

    Wow what a team although you didn’t make it to the finals your standard of play is more than the standard allowance u great guys especially the game against Egypt

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *