Connect with us

Egyptian Football News

Al-Masry return as new Egyptian Premier League season set to feature 22 teams

The 2013/2014  season will feature 22 teams, including Al-Masry, for the first time in the competition’s history.

The board of directors of the (EFA) decided today in their meeting that the next season of the Egyptian Premier League will include the participation of 22 teams for the first time in the competition’s history, split into two groups of 11.

The previous league season was also divided into two groups, however, with only nine teams in each group. Due to lack of organization from the EFA, in addition to the political turmoil in the country, the 2012/2013 season was cancelled before the final round which would’ve determined the league champions.

The 22 clubs includes the return of  Al-Masry, who served their ban after being excluded from 2012/2013 season following to the massacre of Port Said the year before, and an additional three teams who were able to climb from the second division last season: , Raja and .

Relegation from the 2012/2013 Egyptian Premier League season was abolished following the cancellation of the last round of fixtures.

The start date of the season is still unknown as the EFA board of directors still did not decide when the draw of the teams will take place, however what is known is that Al-Ahly and Zamalek will once again be in different groups.

How will next season’s Egyptian Premier League be able to cope with 22 teams?  Will the EFA and the security finally manage to start and end the 2013/2014 season as excepted?

Leave us your thoughts below…

Follow @King_Fut on Twitter and Facebook for the latest on Egyptian football.



  1. Ahmad Yousef

    July 29, 2013 at 3:42 PM

    I think what’s most important is that the league is actually finished. No point starting it and not finishing it in my opinion. I would have also preferred to see the return to a one larger group instead of two smaller groups. If Egypt want to qualify and do well in the world cup next summer the players must have playing regular football. Playing 20 seasons a game is not regular enough.

  2. Andrew Grandee

    November 11, 2013 at 10:11 AM

    play indoor without or with just few fans if need be and venues shouldn’t be made known to the general public to keep the enemies of the league in thick darkness,but there should be a reliable television coverage of all the league games to enable everybody watch from home,,my contribution!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.



More in Egyptian Football News