Connect with us

African Football News

Egypt duo Abou-Treika, Salah nominated for African Player of the Year

Egyptian duo Abou-Treika and Salah have been included among the nominees for the 2013 African Player of the Year by the Confederation of ().

, 35, and , 21, made the 25-man cut of the players nominated for CAF’s African Player of the Year award, and Treika is also nominated for the African Player of the Year (Based in Africa) along with Al Ahly team-mates Ahmed Fathi and Walid Soliman.

Wadi Degla’s Ethiopian international is also among the nominees for the African Player of the Year award, the first-ever player from Degla to be nominated.

The winners will be announced at the Glo- Gala in Lagos, Nigeria on January 9, 2014.

Manchester City and Ivory Coast midfield powerhouse Yaya Toure is the reigning African Player of the Year while Abou-Treika won the African Player of the Year (Based in Africa) last year.

At the 2012 Glo-CAF Awards, Mohamed Salah was named CAF’s Most Promising Talent of the Year, Al Ahly the Club of the Year and Mahmoud El-Gohary – who passed away last year – was the joint winner of the CAF Legend of the Year award along with Rigobert Song.

African Player of the Year Nominees:

Ahmed Musa (Nigeria, CSKA Moscow), Asamoah Gyan (Ghana, Al Ain), Dame N’Doye (Senegal, Locomotiv Moscow), Didier Drogba (Cote d’Ivoire, Galatasaray), Emmanuel Emenike (Nigeria, Fenerbahce), Islam Slimani (Algeria, Sporting Lisbon), John Mikel Obi (Nigeria, Chelsea), Jonathan Pitroipa (Burkina Faso, Stade Rennais), Kévin Constant (Guinea, AC Milan), Kwadwo Asamoah (Ghana, Juventus), Luís Carlos Almada Soares – (Platini) (Cape Verde, AC Omonia), Mehdi Benattia (Morocco, AS Roma), Mohamed Abou-Treika (Egypt, Al Ahly), Mohamed Salah (Egypt, FC Basel), Nicolas Nkoulou (Cameroon, Marseille), Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (Gabon, Borussia Dortmund), Ryan Isaac Mendes da Graça (Cape Verde, Lille), Saladin Said (Ethiopia, Wadi Degla FC), Seydou Keita (Mali, Dalian Aerbin F.C), Sofiane Feghouli (Algeria, Valencia), Sunday Mba (Nigeria, Warri Wolves), Victor Wanyama (Kenya, Southampton FC), Vincent Enyeama (Nigeria, Lille), Yao Kouassi Gervais ‘Gervinho’ (Cote d’Ivoire, AS Roma), Yaya Toure (Cote d’Ivoire, Manchester City)

African Player of the Year (Based in Africa) Nominees:


Name Country Club


Adane Girma Ethiopia St George
Ahmed Fathi Egypt Al Ahly


Alexis Yougouda Kada Cameroon Coton Sport


Ali Machani Tunisia CAB


Bapidi Fils Jean Jules Cameroon Coton Sport


Daine Marcelle-Klate South Africa Orlando Pirates


Fakhreddine Ben Youssef Tunisia CSS


Getaneh Kebede Ethiopia Bidvest Wits


Idrissa Kouyate Cote d’Ivoire CS Sfaxien


Iheb Msakni Tunisia Esperance


Luyanda Lennox Bacela South Africa Orlando Pirates


Mbwana  Samatta Tanzania TP Mazembe


Moez Ben Cherifia Tunisia EST


Mohamed Abou-Treika Egypt Al Ahly


Rainford Kalaba Zambia TP Mazembe


Senzo Meyiwa South Africa Orlando Pirates


Soumbeila Diakite Mali Stade Malien


Sunday Mba Nigeria Warri Wolves


Tresor Mputu DR Congo TP Mazembe


Waleed Soliman Egypt Al Ahly


Yannick N’djeng Cameroon EST


Latest articles from the KingFut Team, covering Egyptian football in English from the National Teams to the Pharaohs Abroad.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.



More in African Football News