Connect with us

Egyptian Football News

Wadi Degla eliminate Ismaily to reach Egypt Cup semi-finals

Wadi DeglaWadi Degla reached the semi-finals of the 2014 by eliminating Ismaily via a penalty shootout with a score of 4-2.

The 2013 runners-up locked horns with two-time winners Ismaily despite finding themselves 1-0 down inside six minutes.

Wadi Degla XI: Essam El-Hadary, Ragab Nabil, Taha Adel, Mohamed El-Hossary, Akwety Mensah, Hamed Feisal, Sayed Salem, Karim Mamdouh, Mostafa Talaat,  Mohab Said, Abdelfattah El-Agha.

Ismaily XI: Mohamed Awad, Shawky El-Said, Ahmed El-Esh, Ibrahim Hassan, Omar El-Wahsh, Hosny Abd-Rabo, Saleh Moussa, Amr El-Sulaya, Mahmoud Hamad, Mahmoud Abdelaziz, Mahmoud Alaa.

The Dervishes started the game in scintillating fashion when they broke the deadlock inside six minutes; Mahmoud Abdelaziz latched onto Abd-Rabo’s cross to make it 1-0.

Ismaily continued their domination and Essam El-Hadary was called into action on several occasions especially when he managed to pull of a great save to deny a stinging strike in the 21st minute.

Wadi Degla managed to equalise in the second half when Ismaily defender Ahmed El-Esh committed an error in the penalty box.

Mostafa Talaat stepped up and converted his penalty, taking the game to penalties.

In the end the Yellow-Blacks prevailed courtesy of Essam El-Hadary who managed to pull off two saves to deny Ahmed El-Esh and Mahmoud Hamad, thus guaranteeing Degla’s progression.

Degla managed to convert four penalties through Mohamed El-Hussary, Sayed Salem, Ahmed El-Merghany and Mostafa Talaat – while Mohab Said missed his spot kick.

Ismaily on the other hand only scored two penalties through Hosny Abd-Rabo and Mohamed Zika.

It is also worth mentioning that a replay of the 2013 final is possible if Zamalek defeat Haras El-Hodood on Thursday.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *



More in Egyptian Football News