Connect with us

African Football News

Glo CAF Awards Announced: Yaya Toure wins fourth straight Player of the Year

Yaya Touré took home the prestigious award during the awards ceremony at the Eko Hotel in Lagos, Nigeria. 

The Glo CAF awards Gala has officially concluded by recognizing 11 of football’s best players, nations and individuals on the African continent.

As the 2014 Glo CAF awards came to a dramatic conclusion, Vincent Enyeama triumphed as Rober Marawa announced the 2014 Player of the Year, with the award going to Ivorian national Yaya Touré for a fourth consecutive year.

The Manchester City midfielder was also nominated along with 24 other top-tier African players, including Mehdi Benatia and Egypt’s Mohamed El-Nenny.

Over the past 12 months, Touré has worked hard to secure the award, notching 20 goals in the 2013/2014 English Premier League season. He also appeared in the 2014 World Cup for his native Côte d’Ivoire.

The 22nd annual CAF awards also recognized Congolese footballer Firmin Ndombe Mubele as the Best African Player (Based in Africa). The 20-year-old forward took this year’s award from Al Ahly’s Mohamed Abou-Treika, after the Egyptian forward won the award both in 2012 and 2013. Mubele currently plays for Kinshasa-based club AS Vita.

Algeria also had a big night at the annual ceremony,winning four awards, most notably Best National Team. The award for Best African Club went to ES Sétif along with the club’s head coach Kheireddine Madoui taking home Coach of the Year.

The awards did not stop for Algeria with FC Porto Yacine Brahimi also winning the Most Promising Talent of the Year.

Al Ahly were nominated for the Club of the Year award, but this year’s CAF Confederation champions were not rewarded for their efforts in 2014. Congolese club AS Vita were also nominated for the club award.

In addition, locals who attended the event in Lagos also had reason to celebrate the growing excellence of women’s football in Nigeria after Asisat Oshoala was dubbed Women’s Best Player of the Year. In addition, the country’s women’s national team was also awarded with the Best Women’s National Team.

List of Winners:

Best National Team: Algeria

Women’s National Team: Nigeria

Club of the Year: ES Sétif (Algeria)

Most Promising Talent: Yacine Brahimi (Algeria)

African Youth Player of the Year: Asisat Oshoala (Nigeria)

Coach of the Year: Kheireddine Madoui (Algeria)

Women’s Player of the Year: Asisat Oshoala (Nigeria)

Legend Award: Oryx Douala (Cameroon)

Referee of the Year: Papa Bakary Gassama (Gambia)

Best African Footballer Based in Africa: Firmin Ndombe Mubele (AS Vita – DR Congo)

African Player of the Year: Yaya Touré (Manchester City – Côte d’Ivoire)

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *



More in African Football News