Warning: filemtime(): stat failed for https://www.kingfut.com/wp-content/themes/the-league/style.css in /home/kingfut9/public_html/wp-content/themes/the-league-child/functions.php on line 6
Connect with us

African Football News

Toure, Ayew, Aubameyang to contest African Player of the Year

The Confederation of African football have announced that the 2015 African Player of the Year will be contested between 2014 winner Yaya Toure, Andre Ayew, and Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang.

Toure was captain of the Ivorian side that lifted the 2015 African Cup of Nations, which was won against Ayew’s Ghana, who won the top scorer award.

Gabon captain Aubameyang, on the other hand, has scored 25 goals in 26 appearances this season for German giants Borussia Dortmund.

The winner will be announced at the Glo- awards gala scheduled for the 7th of January 2016 in Abuja, Nigeria, along with winners in all respective categories which include men’s player of the year, women’s player of the year, African based player of the year, team of year and more.

Below are the nominees for the various categories:

African Player of the Year:

Andre Ayew (Ghana/ Swansea City)

Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (Gabon/ Borussia Dortmund)

Yaya Toure (Cote d”Ivoire/ Manchester City).

African Player of the year – Based in Africa:

Baghdad Boundjah (Algeria/ Etoile du Sahel)

Mbwana Aly Samata (Tanzania/ TP Mazembe)

Robert Kidiaba (DR Congo/ TP Mazembe)

National Team of the Year:

·         Cote d’Ivoire (AFCON 2015 Champions)

·         Ghana

·         Mali U17

·         Nigeria U17 (2015 U-17 World cup Champions)

·         Nigeria  U-23 (2015 U-23 World cup Champions)

Women National Team of the Year:

·         Ghana

·         Cameroon

·         South Africa

·         Zimbabwe

Club of the Year:

·         USM Algers , Algeria

·         TP Mazembe, DR Congo (winner of the 2015)

·         Orlando Pirates, South Africa

·         Etoile Sportive du Sahel, Tunisia (winner of the 2015)

Coach of the Year:

·         Baye Ba, Mali, U17

·         Emmanuel Amunike, Nigeria U17 (former Zamalek legend and winner of the U-17 World Cup)

·         Fawzi Benzarti, Etoile Sportive de Sahel (winner of the CAF Confederation Cup 2015)

·         Hervé Renard, Cote d’ivore

·         Patrice Carteron, TP Mazembe (winner of the CAF Champions League 2015)

Women Player of the Year:

·         Gabrielle Onguéné, Cameroon

·         Gaelle Enganamouit, Cameroon

·         Ngozi Ebere, Nigeria

·         N’rehy Tia Ines, Cote d’Ivoire

·         Portia Boakye, Ghana

Youth Player of the Year:

·         Adama Traore, Mali

·         Kelechi Nwakali, Nigeria

·         Samuel Diarra, Mali

·         Victor Osimhen, Nigeria

·         Yaw Yeboah, Ghana

Most Promising Talent:      

·         Azubuike Okechukwu, Nigeria

·         Etebo Oghenekaro, Nigeria

·         Djigui Diarra, Mali

·         Mahmoud Abdelmonem ‘kahraba’, Egypt

·         Zinedine Ferhat, Algeria

Referee of the Year:

·         Alioum Neant, Cameroon

·         Bakary Papa GASSAMA, Gambia

·         Eric Arnaud OTOGO CASTANE, Gabon

·         Ghead Zaglol GRISHA, Egypt

·         Janny SIKAZWE, Zambia

African Legend:

·         Charles Kumi Gyamfi, Ghana

·         Samuel Mbappé Léppé, Cameroon


Abdul Musa is a Sudanese football fanatic living in England. Passionate Al Hilal Omdurman and Manchester United supporter who closely follows football across Europe and Africa and writes for various websites including KingFut. African footballing aficionado, Pep Guardiola enthusiast, currently studying BSc Chemistry at University.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *



More in African Football News