Connect with us

African Football News

2015 CAF Awards: Aubameyang beats Yaya Toure to African Player of the Year

Borussia Dortmund and Gabon striker Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang beats  to be named the African Player of the Year for 2015.

The Glo- Gala held on Thursday announced the winners of the African awards of 2015, recognizing the best football nations, clubs and best players from the continent with a variety of different awards.

In a very competitive atmosphere, BVB’s striker, Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang, was named Africa’s Player of the Year in 2015, after finishing in second place in 2014. Yaya Toure was named Africa’s best player for the past 4 years – 2011, 2012, 2013 and 2014 – but the Ivory Coast captain couldn’t make it for the 5th year in a row losing by 7 points to the Gabonese hitman. Aubameyang, who is currently the Bundesliga’s top goalscorer this season with 18 goals in 17 league games, became the first player from his country to win the prestigious award.

For the first time since the CAF started organizing the event in 2004, Ivory Coast were named Africa’s best national team, while Cameroon won the best women’s national team award in 2015.

The Most Promising Talent award was given to a player who currently still plays for a club in his homeland: Peter Etebo Oghenekaro of Warri Wolves in Nigeria. At the same time, Nigeria’s U-23 striker, Victor Osimhen – who was the top scorer at the 2015 U-17 World Cup – won the African Youth Player of the Year.

Moving on to the award that was previously won by former Al Ahly and Egypt superstar Mohamed Abou-Treika in 2006, 2008, 2012 and 2013, the African Player of the Year (based in Africa) for 2015 was TP Mazembe striker Mbwana Ally Samata, and his team were awarded the African Club of the Year as well.

Hervé Renard was awarded the Coach of the Year and became the first manager to win the same award managing two different teams: Zambia in 2012 and Ivory Coast in 2015. The 47-year-old Frenchman was given the award after managing to win the 2015 Africa Cup of Nations in Equatorial Guinea.

Gambian referee Bakary Papa Gassama competed with Egypt’s Gehad Grisha and Cameroon’s Alioum, beating them both to the Referee of the Year award. The Fair Play award was given to Allez Casa who represents the Senegalese Supporters Club, while Charles Kumi Gyamfi (Ghana) and Samuel Mbappe (Cameroon) were awarded the Legends of the Year in 2015, an award was once given to Mahmoud El-Khatib and Mahmoud El-Gohary in 2004 and 2012 respectively.

Finally, Cameroon female player, Gaelle Enganamouit, was named Africa’s Women’s Player of the Year after they qualified to the World Cup round of 16 in Canada. Enganamouit also had 40 appearances for Swedish team Eskilstuna United, scoring 23 goals before moving to FC Rosengard, also in Sweden.

List of Winners:

Best National Team: Ivory Coast

Women’s National Team: Cameroon

Club of the Year: TP Mazembe (DR Congo)

Fair Play Award: Allez Casa (Senegalese Supporters Club)

Most Promising Talent: Peter Etebo Oghenekaro (Warri Wolves & Nigeria)

African Youth Player of the Year: Victor Osimhen (Nigeria)

Coach of the Year: Herve Renard (France, Former Ivory Coast manager)

Women’s Player of the Year: Gaelle Enganamouit (Cameroon)

Legend Award: Charles Kumi Gyamfi (Ghana) & Samuel Mbappe (Cameroon)

Referee of the Year: Bakary Papa Gassama (Gambia)

Leader of the YearAbdiqani Said Arab (Somalia)

Best African Footballer Based in Africa: Mbwana Ally Samata (TP Mazembe & Tanzania)

African Player of the Year: Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (Borussia Dortmund & Gabon)

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *



More in African Football News