Connect with us

Egyptian Football News

Two Egyptians included in IFFHS’ list of 48 football legends

Abou-Treika, IFFHS

The International Federation of Football History and Statistics (IFFHS) released Phase One of football legends, which includes 48 retired players from around the footballing world, with two Egyptian, five Arab, and five African footballers included.

The IFFHS, which was formed in 1984 under FIFA’s approval and support, focuses primarily on archiving football history, records, and statistics from associations around the world.

In a  list that includes great football icons like Pele, Diego Maradona, Franz Beckenbauer, Johan Cruyff, Ronaldo De Lima, and Zinedine Zidane, Egypt and Al Ahly legends Mohamed Abou-Treika and Mahmoud El-Khatib competently made their way into the list with illustrious careers.


Mahmoud El-Khatib received five Best African Player of the Year awards, won the Egyptian Premier League title ten times, the Egypt Cup five times, and the CAF Champions League twice throughout a 17-year career. The 61-year-old retired striker scored a total of 37 goals in all African competitions, which is a record that has been standing for about 28 years.

Mohamed Aboutrika won the Best African Player of the Year (Based in Africa) three times, lifted the Egyptian Premier League title eight times, and the CAF Champions League five times. He is also the top scorer of the Cairo derby with 13 goals.

The list also included the following players:

Lucas Valeriu Ntuba Radebe (Lucas Radebe) / South Africa

Majed Ahmed Abdullah Al-Mohammed (Majed Abdullah) / Saudi Arabia

Nwankwo Kanu / Nigeria

George Tawlon Manneh Oppong Ousman Weah (George Weah) / Liberia

Jasem Yaqoub Sultan Al-Besara / Kuwait

Albert Roger Mooh Miller (Roger Milla) / Cameroon

Mustapha Rabah Madjer (Rabah Madjer) / Algeria

See the full list here.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *



More in Egyptian Football News