Mohamed Salah fined for diving against Empoli
The Egyptian international went to the ground appealing for a penalty after his shirt had been pulled in the third minute of injury time, but the referee turned down Salah’s appeal and booked him for diving.
Salah has been handed a €2,000 fine for diving in the penalty area, the Disciplinary Commission of the Italian Football Federation announced on Wednesday.
Following the game, Roma coach Luciano Spalletti said he agreed with the referee’s decision not to award Salah a penalty.
“Salah’s incident? At times just the contact is enough and sometimes there needs to be something more, it depends. In this case, Salah’s shirt stretched a bit, but in my opinion it’s not a penalty. I think the referee had a perfect match,” Spalletti said during the post-match press conference, according to multiple news outlets.
The Giallorossi currently sit second in the Serie A table on 23 points, four adrift of leaders Juventus.
/ 37 mins ago
Despite playing only 56 minutes Mohamed Salah has been voted Liverpool’s Man of the...
/ 1 hour ago
Emre Can has hailed Egypt international Mohamed Salah following Liverpool’s 7-0 victory over Slovenian...
/ 2 hours ago
Egypt international Sam Morsy has expressed his delight after scoring a late equaliser for...
/ 16 hours ago
Former Egypt international Ahmed Hossam Mido believes Emad Meteb should leave Al Ahly if...