Connect with us

African Football News

Gehad Grisha Egypt’s only representative in 2016 Glo-CAF awards


Photo: CAF

The Confederation of African Football (CAF) have included only one Egyptian in their final list for the 2016 awards.

Referee will be the only Egypt representative in the final awards list after the elimination of Cairo giants Zamalek and Stoke City winger Ramadan Sobhi. Grisha was nominated for the CAF 2016 Referee of the Year award along with Gambian referee Bakary Papa and Senegalese Malang Diedhiou.

Zamalek were also nominated for The African Club of the Year award but failed to make it to the shortlist which included ZESCO United (Zambia), Mamelodi Sundowns (South Africa) and TP Mazembe (Congo).

Elia Meschak (DR Congo), Kelechi Iheanacho (Nigeria) and Naby Keita (Guinea) have beaten Egypt’s young star Ramadan Sobhi to secure their places in the final shortlist of the 2016 Most Promising Talent award.

List of Nominees:

African Player of the Year:

Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (Borussia Dortmund & Gabon)

Riyad Mahrez (Leicester City & Algeria)

Sadio Mane (Liverpool & Senegal)

Best African Footballer Based in Africa:

Rainford Kalaba (Zambia & TP Mazembe)

Khama Billiat (Zimbabwe & Mamelodi Sundowns)

Denis Onyango (Uganda & Mamelodi Sundowns)

Women’s Player of the Year:

Asisat Oshoala (Nigeria & Arsenal Ladies)

Elizabeth Addo (Ghana & Kvarnsvedensik IK)

Gabrielle Aboudi Onguene (Cameroon & Rossyanka)

Most Promising Talent:

Elia Meschak (DR Congo & TP Mazembe)

Kelechi Iheanacho (Nigeria & Manchester City)

Naby Keita (Guinea & RB Leipzig)

Youth Player of the Year:

Alex Iwobi (Nigeria & Arsenal)

Eric Ayiah (Ghana & Charity FC)

Sandra Owusu-Ansah (Ghana & Supreme Ladies)

Coach of the Year:

Florent Ibenge (DR Congo national team)

Pitso Mosimane (Mamelodi Sundowns)

Florence Omagbemi (Nigeria women’s national team)

Club of the Year:

Mamelodi Sundowns

TP Mazembe

Zesco United

National Team of the Year:

DR Congo



Women’s National Team of the Year:



South Africa

Referee of the Year:

Bakary Papa Gassama

Gehad Zaglol Grisha

Malang Diedhiou

Football Leader of the Year:

Manuel Lopes Nascimento, President of Guinea Bissau Football

Federation Legend Award:

Laurent Pokou, Former player of Cote d’Ivoire

Emilienne Mbango, Former player of Cameroon

The yearly event which celebrates African footballers, coaches and administrators will be held in Abuja, Nigeria on Thursday.

In addition to being a hardcore football fan, Abdelrahman is a communications enthusiast who works in marketing, advertising, content creation and PR.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *



More in African Football News