Connect with us

African Football News

Mamelodi Sundowns win big at the CAF awards

Mamelodi Sundowns win big at the 2016 CAF awards

Photo: CAF

The 2016 held in Nigeria saw Riyad Mahrez and both claim African player of the year award and African-based player of the year award respectively.

The Algerian international faced stiff competition with Gabonese forward and last year’s winner Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang and Liverpool’s winger , but the Leicester City winger topped the charts with 361 votes, followed by Aubameyang with 313 and finally Mane with 186.

Uganda international and ’ goalkeeper Denis Onyango claimed the African-based player of the year award with 252 votes after facing a slight competition with his teammate and Zimbabwe international who got 228 votes, followed by Zambia international Rainford Kalaba with 206 votes.

Meanwhile, Champions League winners Mamelodi Sundowns were named African Club of the Year, and their manager Pitso Mosimane has clinched the Manager of the Year award.

Photo: CAF

Photo: CAF

Moving on to the youth awards, Manchester City forward and Nigerian international Kelechi Ihenacho claimed the talent of the year award. His compatriot, Arsenal’s Alex Iwobi, received the youth player of the year award.

It’s also worth mentioning that the Egyptian international was named in Africa’s finest XI along with Manchester United’s Eric Bailly (Ivory Coast), Dortmund’s Aubameyang (Gabon), Serge Aurier (Ivory Coast), Aymen Abdennour (Tunisia), Kalidou Kolibaly (Senegal), Salif Coulibaly (Mali), Riyad Mahrez (Algeria), Kelechi Ihenacho (Nigeria), Rainford Kalaba (Zambia), Joyce Lomalisa (Congo), Keagan Dolly (South Africa), Alex Iwobi (Nigeria) and Aymen Mathlouthi (Tunisia).

Photo: CAF

Photo: CAF

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.



More in African Football News