Connect with us

African Football News

South Africa announce squad for 2017 U-20 AFCON

south africaSouth Africa announced their squad for the 2017 U-20 Africa Cup of Nations, which will be held in Zambia from Feb. 26 to March 12. 

The 21-man squad sees the inclusion of only two foreign-based players, both ply their trade in Portugal. South Africa were drawn in Group B along Senegal, Sudan, and Cameroon.

READ: Egypt U-20 name 2017 AFCON squad

South Africa’s opening game will be against Cameroon at Levy Mwanawasa Stadium, Ndola on Feb. 27 before playing against Senegal and then Sudan on March 2 and 5, respectively.

The full squad:

Goalkeepers: Sanele Tshabalala (Bidvest Wits F.C), Mondli Mpoto (SuperSport United F.C), Khulekani Kubheka (Mamelodi Sundowns F.C)

Defenders:  Notha Nature Ngcobo (Mamelodi Sundowns F.C), Repo Tercious Malepe (Orlando Pirates F.C), Aghmat Ridhaa Ceres (Ajax Cape Town F.C), Siyabonga Ngezana (Kaizer Chiefs F.C), Katlego Mohamme (SuperSport United F.C), Sandile Mthethwa (Orlando Pirates F.C), Thendo Mukumela (Mamelodi Sundowns F.C)

Midfielders: Teboho Mokoena (SuperSport United F.C), Sipho Percevale Mbule (Orlando Pirates F.C), Wiseman Meyiwa (Kaizer Chiefs F.C), Phakamani Mahlambi (Bidvest Wits F.C), Sibongakonke Ntuthuko Mbatha (Bidvest Wits F.C), Kobamelo Kodisang (Platinum Stars F.C), Grant Margeman (Ajax Cape Town F.C)

Strikers: Itumeleng Shopane (Kaizer Chiefs F.C), Khanyisa Erick Mayo (SuperSport United F.C), Liam Jonathan Jordan (Sporting CP, Portugal), Luther Singh (Sporting Braga B, Portugal)

In addition to being a football/soccer and basketball enthusiast, I am currently pursuing a combined BS/MD degree at VCU. I also currently work as a Pharmacy Technician in my spare time.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *



More in African Football News