Connect with us

African Football News

Morocco and Tunisia qualify for the 2018 FIFA World Cup

As the final set of matches of CAF World Cup qualification concluded, all five African World Cup slots have been confirmed, including and .

Morocco and Tunisia have joined Nigeria, Egypt, and Senegal as the African teams who will be playing in the World Cup this summer.

Egypt and Nigeria qualified last month after winning their groups’ with a match left to play. Senegal qualified for the World Cup for the first time since 2002 on Friday after defeating South Africa 2-0.

Morocco qualified on Saturday after defeating the Ivory Coast 2-0. Before today’s matches, Morocco had 9 points while the Ivorians had 8 points; meaning the winner of the match would qualify. Goals from Nabil Dirar and Mehdi Benatia in the first half secured qualification for the Moroccans who won the group with 12 points.

Tunisia also qualified on Saturday after drawing 0-0 with Libya. Before today’s matches, Tunisia had 13 points while DR Congo had 10 points. Tunisia would have advanced with at least a draw or a loss but still retaining a higher goal difference. DR Congo defeated Guinea 3-1 but that did not matter as Tunisia had secured a point. Tunisia qualified for the World Cup after winning the group with 14 points.

This is the first time in history that four Arab countries have reached the FIFA World Cup as Egypt, Saudi Arabia, Morocco, and Tunisia.



1 Comment

1 Comment

  1. Fifa World cup 2018

    November 27, 2017 at 3:48 PM

    What about Russia as host to play well for home title?

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.



More in African Football News