Connect with us

Egyptian Football News

Salah shortlisted for PFA Players’ Player of the Year award


(Photo by Laurence Griffiths/Getty Images,)

star has been included in a six-man shortlist for the Professional Footballers’ Association (PFA) Players’ Player of the Year award.

The shortlist was announced on Saturday and saw the inclusion of Manchester City trio David Silva, , and Leroy Sane. The Egypt international also faces off competition from Tottenham striker and Manchester United goalkeeper David de Gea.

De Bruyne and Salah are the favourites to follow in the footsteps of Chelsea midfielder N’Golo Kante who collected the award in the 2016/17 season after he saw off competition from Eden Hazard, Harry Kane, Romelu Lukaku, Zlatan Ibrahimovic and Alexis Sanchez.

The 25-year-old Egyptian has enjoyed an incredible debut season at Liverpool. He scored 29 goals in 31 league appearances and was involved in a total of 50 goals in all competitions. He’s currently leading the Golden Boot race, with four goals clear of second-placed Kane.

Meanwhile, De Bruyne has played a major role in Manchester City’s march towards the Premier League title and scored seven goals and assisted 15 in 32 Premier League games.

The winner for the prestigious award will be voted for by PFA members from the 92 Premier League and Football League teams, with the results set to be announced on April 22 at Grosvenor House in London.

Editor-in-Chief at Pursuing a master's degree in sport policy, management and international development at the University of Edinburgh.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.



More in Egyptian Football News