Connect with us

Egyptian Football News

Egypt FA: Five Egyptian teams to take part in Arab Championship

Egypt FA: Five Egyptian teams to take part in Arab Championship

Egyptian FA Competitions Committee announced that five Egyptian clubs will be taking part in the next , including Cairo giants Al Ahly and Zamalek.

Esperance Sportive de Tunis were crowned 2017 Arab Championship winners after beating Jordan’s Al-Faisaly SC in the final match.

Al Ahly reached the championship semi-finals but later lost Al Faisaly, while Zamalek were eliminated in the group stage.

“The Union of Arab Football Associations announced that the competition will feature 40 clubs, five of these clubs will be Egyptian,” committee’s president Amer Hussein said in radio comments.

Hussein revealed that these five clubs will be Al Ahly, Zamalek, Ismaily, and Al Masry.

Al Ahly have been crowned as the Egyptian Premier League champions, while Ismaily, Zamalek, and Al Masry sit second, third, and fourth respectively, and Ittihad of Alexandria lie in 10th place.

Arab Club Championship final
“The championship will be different next year. The Union will meet next Tuesday to agree on all related details,” he added.

The Red Devils won the tournament in 1996 and were runners-up in 1997. Zamalek were the last Egyptian team to lift the title, when they beat Kuwaiti side Al Kuwait 2-1 in 2003.

Ismaily and ENPPI also reached the final, but lost the title to CS Sfaxien and Raja Casablanca in 2004 and 2006 respectively.

In addition to being a hardcore football fan, Abdelrahman is a communications enthusiast who works in marketing, advertising, content creation and PR.

1 Comment

1 Comment

  1. Ahmed

    April 18, 2018 at 5:25 PM

    Usless torunament

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.



More in Egyptian Football News