Connect with us

Egyptian Football News

Mohamed Salah named in PFA Premier League Team of Year

Mohamed Salah

Photo: Laurence Griffiths/Getty Images

star has been included in the Professional Footballers’ Association Premier League Team of the Year.

The PFA announced on Wednesday an 11-man squad voted for by every player from the 20 clubs in the Premier League ahead of the PFA’s annual awards ceremony in London on Sunday, April 22.

The 25-year-old is Liverpool’s only representative as the list didn’t include the names of Reds’ duo Sadio Mane and Robert Firmino who are both enjoying an incredible season with the Reds, with Firmino netting 15 goals and being listed fifth on the league’s top scorers list.

The list saw the inclusion of five Manchester City players namely Sergio Aguero, Kevin De Bruyne, Nicolas Otamendi, David Silva and Kyle Walker after they have helped their side clinch the Premier League title.

Meanwhile, Tottenham had three representatives after the inclusion of Jan Vertonghen, Christian Eriksen and Harry Kane. Manchester United goalkeeper David de Gea and Chelsea’s left-back Marcos Alonso rounded out the list.

(Photo by Laurence Griffiths/Getty Images,)

Salah has been in an impressive form since returning to the Premier League last summer. He became the first ever player to win the Premier League Player of the Month for three times in a season and was shortlisted for the PFA Player of the Year award, along with his contenders for the Golden boot Harry Kane and Sergio Aguero.

The Egypt international has now bagged 30 goals in 32 league appearances and a total of 40 goals for Liverpool in all competitions. He has also played a huge role in sending his team to the semi-final of the UEFA Champions League.

Liverpool’s next task will be against relegation-threatened team West Bromwich as Salah will face his national team teammmates Ahmed Hegazi and Aly Gabr on April 21.

Here’s the full squad:

David de Ge, Kyle Walker, Jan Vertonghen, Nicolas Otamendi, Marcos Alonso, David Silva, Kevin De Bruyne, Christian Eriksen, Mohamed Salah, Harry Kane, Sergio Aguero.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.



More in Egyptian Football News