Connect with us

Pharaohs Abroad

Salah the first Liverpool player to win PFA on his debut season

Photo: Shaun Botterill/Getty Images

Six players won the Player of the Year award before , yet the Egyptian is the first to grab the title on his debut season. 

The Pharaoh was awarded Player of the Year by the votes of all Premier League players on Sunday night April 22, after firing 31 goals in the top flight.

Terry McDermott was the first player to claim the award from Liverpool, he was followed by the two strikers of the golden generation as Kenny Dalglish and Ian Rush triumphed with the title in two successive seasons.

John Barnes won it in the late 80s, before Steven Gerrard became the first player to win the trophy for the Reds in the Premier League era.

Luis Suarez was the last Liverpool player to win before Salah and it was back in 2013/14 season.

Chelsea’s N’Golo Kanté also managed to walk victorious with the award on his debut season.

Salah is three games away from ending the season with another award, the Golden Boot, as he is also one goal away from becoming the best goal scorer in the history of the 38 games Premier League.




London School for Journalism student. KingFut community manager, Saba7o Korah editorial team, Writing for Football Italia and I have featured for FourFourTwo, These Football Times and The Gentleman Ultra.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.



More in Pharaohs Abroad