Connect with us

Extra Time

El Shorbagy, El-Sherbini claim Player of the Year award

Egypt world no. 1s Mohamed El Shorbagy and Nour El-Sherbini have been crowned as the PSA Male and Female Player of the Year respectively.

El Shorbagy was awarded the individual accolade clinching seven major titles, including the 2017 PSA World Championships crown to certify his strong return to the top.

The 27-year-old faced competition from Colombia’s Miguel Angel Rodriguez but managed to overcome him with a slight advantage after being favoured by the PSA Awards Committee, a group consisting of selected influential former players, members of the media, tournament promoters and PSA Board representatives combined with the results of a social media vote, per PSA website.

On the other hand, El-Sherbini was also designated as Female Player of the Year after winning four major titles this season, specifically Hong Kong Open, inaugural Saudi PSA Women’s Masters, Tournament of Champions and British Open.

In addition to that, other Egyptian representatives were recognised on the podium for other awards, including Raneem El Welily who was handed the Female’s Spirit of Squash title, Nour El-Tayeb was also regarded with the Female Shot of the Year and Match of the Year which took place between her and New Zealand’s Joelle King.

Editor & Social Media contributor for Passionate football fan and a massive AC Milan fan in particular. Marketing graduate

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.



More in Extra Time