Connect with us

Egyptian Football News

Sam Allardyce on Salah penalty: I’m not having it

Mohamed Salah

Photo by Julian Finney/Getty Images

Former coach gave his verdict on the penalty kick was awarded against in the English Premier League.

Liverpool were able to seal all three points at Selhurst Part defeating Crystal Palace 0-2 in the second round of the league.

The Reds were able to break the deadlock on the stroke of half-time after referee Michael Oliver adjudged Mamadou Sakho to have fouled Mohamed Salah and awarded the Reds a penalty kick which James Milner stepped up and converted into the club’s first goal before Sadio Mane added another goal in the dying minutes of the game.

The penalty decision sparked some controversy as many, including former Tottenham Hotspur chairman Alan Sugar, who believes that the Egyptian had ‘dived’ to earn his team the penalty.

“I’m not having it but it’s like anything else,” the English coach told beIN SPORTS. “You can buy a penalty if you feel a contact. But for me he could have easily stayed on his feet. But he’s felt the contact and thought: ‘Well, instead of staying up, I’m not scoring here so I’ll go down.'”

READ | Roy Hodgson slams Salah penalty decision

“There’s not enough contact to make him fall over,” he added. “He falls over but it’s still a penalty because he makes contact and the referee’s given it. So it’s a penalty.”

Crystal Palace captain, Luka Milivojevic, also said that he attempted to convince Salah to tell the referee that the penalty shouldn’t be awarded insisting that it was a wrong decision.

“It’s theatrical, people won’t like us saying that, they’ll be offended, Allardyce explained. “But if it’s against you, you think it’s soft. One thing I would say is there has been a mistake made by Sakho. He’s too tight, he’s clumsy, he’s all over him.

“There’s a stamp at the ball first time, then there’s a double one there.

“You just see there that Salah’s got his right leg hanging and it is a theatrical fall, which to be fair we’ve seen a lot of players do, but it’s clumsy from Sakho. He’s given Salah a decision to make.”

Allardyce continued to blame Sakho’s inability to tackle Salah without helping the Egyptian win a penalty as he said that it was desperate seeing him lose control of the tackle like that.

“But there’s no doubt Salah takes it, look at that fall, he just collapses,” he concluded.

In addition to being a hardcore football fan, Abdelrahman is a communications enthusiast who works in marketing, advertising, content creation and PR.

1 Comment

1 Comment

  1. Ahmed

    August 22, 2018 at 11:51 PM

    I don’t understand what is the big fuss about this penalty. Sakho made a clear-cut contact and this is clear even on the replays. Was it enough to send him to the ground? Maybe yes, maybe no, but at the end of the day, this penalty is a correct one. If Salah oversold the contact then he is still right to do so. Forcing himself to stay up after the contact in this position, like Allardyce stated it, was not going to get him anywhere and the most important thing is the 3 points. This is far far away from the diving lessons we get every season from players who go to the ground when in fact nobody even touched him.

    Guy just came back from a master lesson in cheating at the CL final where a player actually injured him on purpose and nobody other than the LFC fans and Egyptian fans blinked an eye, but suddenly a legit penalty is awarded and some people are trying to make him look like he deals drug to little kids on the corner.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Advertisement

Latest

More in Egyptian Football News