Connect with us

Pharaohs Abroad

Modric wins UEFA Player of the Year award

Photo by Gonzalo Arroyo Moreno/Getty Images

Croatia and midfielder Luke Modric has won the UEFA Player of the Year award ahead of fellow nominees and .

Following an exceptional year in which he won the Champions League as well as leading Croatia to their first ever World Cup final, has been named by UEFA as the best player of 2018.

The 32 year old ends a streak of Messi and Ronaldo’s dominance which dates back to 2013 when Franck Ribery picked up the award. It comes as little surprise as Modric was heavily influential in Real Madrid’s Champions League win, being considered by many to be man of the match.

After the Champions League campaign, Modric was named as the World Cup’s best player as he captained Croatia past the likes of Argentina, Denmark, Russia and England to reach the final before eventually losing 4-2 to France.

While Salah did not win this award, he had a very successful campaign of his own having scored 10 goals as Liverpool surprisingly reached their first Champions League final since 2007, with his highlight being in the semi final against his former club Roma where he scored two and assisted two in the home leg at Anfield.

Salah will now focus on the upcoming Champions League campaign, as Liverpool were drawn in an extremely tough group alongside Paris Saint Germain, Napoli and Red Star Belgrade.

Match Reporter and Editor at Quantity surveyor from South East London. Support Leyton Orient and Inter at club level. Due to my mixed heritage I also support England, Egypt and Poland at national level. If it involves a stadium and a football then I'll watch it.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.



More in Pharaohs Abroad