Connect with us

Beyond Borders

Nigeria crowned Women’s Africa Cup of Nations champions

Photo: Segun Ogunfeyitimi/Gallo Images/Getty Images

Nigeria’s women’s national team have been crowned Women’s Africa Cup of Nations champions after beating 4-3 on penalties.

The tournament was hosted in Ghana and witnessed the participation of eight teams, with Algeria being the only North African country in the competition.

In their road to the final, South Africa topped group B with seven points, one more than Nigeria, before both countries played against Mali and Cameroon in the semis.

Nigeria eliminated South Africa on penalties after playing out a 0-0 draw, while South Africa beat Mali 2-0, thanks to strikes from Kgatlana and Ramalepe.

The final was the two teams second encounter in the tournament, with South Africa coming on top in the first one during the group-stages, however, the final went to a different way.

The game ended 0-0 after 120 minutes, however, Dalian Quanjian F.C midfielder Asisat Oshoala could’ve sealed the game for Nigeria in normal time, but failed to convert her penalty into a goal.

The defending champions went on to win the game after a stressful penalty shootout, that ended with The Super Falcons coming on top with a 4-3 result.

Nigeria are currently the most successful country in this competition, winning nine out of the 11 editions of this tournament.

Following this result, both finalists will now participate in the 2019 women’s World Cup in France alongside Cameroon.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.



More in Beyond Borders