Connect with us

Beyond Borders

Nigeria announce squad for Egypt, Seychelles games

Nigeria name squad for Egypt, Seychelles games

Photo: Julian Finney/Getty Images

boss Gernot Rohr has named his 23-man squad for his side’s games against Seychelles and in the March internationals.

The Super Eagles will face Seychelles in their last game of the 2019 Africa Cup of Nations qualifiers, before facing Egypt four days later in a friendly game at home.

READ: Salah left out as Egypt announce squad for Niger, Nigeria games

The last time Egypt faced Nigeria away from home was in the 2017 Africa Cup of Nations Qualifiers. The Pharaohs managed to secure a last-gasp draw following a Mohamed Salah strike to go on and beat Nigeria 1-0 in Alexandria and qualify to the AFCON for the first time since 2010.

Despite the last loss against the Pharaohs, Nigeria hold a superior record in their previous meetings with the Egyptians having won seven, drawn five and lost five.

Photo: Dan Mullan – FIFA/FIFA via Getty Images

And ahead of the upcoming friendly Rohr has named the squad that will feature against Egypt, with a number of big names omitted from the list.

Super Eagles skipper John Obi Mikel, Leicester City’s Kelechi Iheanacho, Watford’s Isaac Success, and Chelsea loanee Victor Moses have all been left out from the squad.

On the other hand, Leicester City’s Wilfred Ndidi, Oghenekaro Etebo of Stoke City, Al Nassar’s Ahmed Musa, Odion Ighalo, and Arsenal winger Alex Iwobi have all made the list.

Brighton & Hove Albion defender Leon Balogun, as well as Chelsea loanees Kenneth Omeruo and Ola Aina were also named in the squad.

Full squad:

Goalkeepers: Francis Uzoho (Anorthosis Famagusta, Cyprus); Ikechukwu Ezenwa (Katsina United); Daniel Akpeyi (Kaizer Chiefs, South Africa).

Defenders: Olaoluwa Aina (Torino FC, Italy); Abdullahi Shehu (Bursaspor FC, Turkey); Valentine Ozornwafor (Enyimba FC, U20 defender & Home-based); Chidozie Awaziem (Caykur Rizespor, Turkey); William Ekong (Udinese FC, Italy); Leon Balogun (Brighton & Hove Albion, England); Kenneth Omeruo (CD Leganes, Spain); Jamilu Collins (SC Padeborn 07, Germany).

Midfielders: Semi Ajayi (Rotherham United, England); Wilfred Ndidi (Leicester City, England); Oghenekaro Etebo (Stoke City FC, England); John Ogu (Hapoel Be’er Sheva).

Forwards: Ahmed Musa (Al Nassar FC, Saudi Arabia); Victor Osimhen (Charleroi SC, Belgium); Moses Simon (Levante FC, Spain); Henry Onyekuru (Galatasaray SK, Turkey); Odion Ighalo (Shanghai Shenhua, China); Alex Iwobi (Arsenal FC, England); Samuel Kalu (Girondins Bordeaux, France); Paul Onuachu (FC Midtjyland, Denmark).

Photo: The NFF

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.



More in Beyond Borders