Connect with us

Egyptian Football News

OFFICIAL: CAF announce AFCON pots allocation

Photo: Haikel Hmima/Anadolu Agency/Getty Images

Confederation of African Football () have officially released the allotment of pots for the 24 national teams that we will partake in the 2019 Africa Cup of Nations in Egypt.

The African showpiece has been relocated after it was announced that Egypt will host the 2019 AFCON after CAF announced it’s bid has prevailed over South Africa’s one.

Initial hosts Cameroon were stripped off their hosting rights for the competition, which will be played in June 2019, back in November after they failed to fulfill the necessary organizational requirements.

The upcoming version will witness the participation of 24 teams for the first time after the tournament was extended, with few nations marking their presence for the first time ever.

AFCON teams pot allocation came as follows:

Pot 1: Egypt (hosts) – Cameroon – Nigeria – Senegal – Tunisia – Morocco

Pot 2: DR Congo – Ghana – Mali – Ivory Coast – Guinea – Algeria

Pot 3: South Africa – Uganda – Benin – Mauritania – Madagascar – Kenya

Pot 4: Zimbabwe – Namibia – Guinea Bissau – Angola – Tanzania – Burundi

It is worth noting that AFCON 2019 draw will take place on Friday evening in Giza, Egypt.

Editor & Social Media contributor for Passionate football fan and a massive AC Milan fan in particular. Marketing graduate

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.



More in Egyptian Football News