Connect with us


Egypt AFCON opponents: Zimbabwe name preliminary squad

Egypt AFCON opponents: Zimbabwe name preliminary squad

Photo: Olivier Ebanga/Anadolu Agency/Getty Images

Egypt’s group opponents have named a 34-man preliminary squad for 2019 Africa Cup of Nations which will take place next month.

The Warriors were drawn in group A alongside hosts Egypt, DR Congo, and Uganda. Their opening game will be against Egypt on June 21, before facing Uganda and DR Congo on June 26 and June 30 respectively.

Their preliminary squad for the competition saw the inclusion of 17 players based in South Africa, most notably Khama Billiat, Marshall Munetsi, and Danny Phiri.

Leicester City youngster Admiral Muskwe and Nottingham Forest defender Tendai Darikwa also made the list as well as Anderlecht winger Knowledge Musona.

Zimbabwe, who reached their second successive AFCON finals, will face Nigeria in a friendly on June 8, and will take part in the COSAFA Cup on June 1, starting from the quarterfinal stage.

Zimbabwe 34-man preliminary squad:

Goalkeepers: George Chigova, Elmore Sibanda, Elvis Chipezeze, Talbert Shumba

Defenders: Dennis Dauda, Lawrence Mhlanga, Jimmy Dzingal, Byron Madzokere, Alec Mudimu, Teenage Hadebe, Divine Lunga, Ronald Pfumbidzai, Tendai Darikwa

Midfielders: Danny Phiri, Marshall Munetsi, Marvelous Nakamba, Butholezwe Ncube, Tafadzwa Kutinyu, Ovidy Karuru, Khama Billiat, Kuda Mahachi, Tafadzwa Rusike, Richard Hachiro, Talent Chawapihwa, Leeroy Mavunga, Thabani Kamusoko, Rodwell Chinyengetere

Strikers: Nyasha Mushekwi, Evans Rusike, Walter Musona, Tinotenda Kadewere, Knox Mutizwa, Admiral Muskwe, Knowledge Musona,

1 Comment

1 Comment

  1. reston kamangira

    May 15, 2019 at 6:21 PM

    plz include m bouney in the team we need him

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.



More in News