Connect with us

International Football News

UAFA announce new Arab Club Championship format


The Union of Arab Football Associations () announced a new format for the upcoming .

The tournament, also known as the Zayed Cup, has been dominated by Tunisian sides for the past two editions. As the previous two winners are Esperance Sportive de Tunis and Etoile du Sahel.

The tournament’s previous format saw the participation of 40 clubs, 20 from Asia and 20 from Africa. Ten teams would participate in the qualifying play-off round, where only two advance to the round of 32. They would then play a normal knockout round with home and away legs.

Now, according to Saudi newspaper “Al-Riyadiyya” the UAFA decided to change the tournament’s format with 10 teams directly qualifying for the round of 16. As for the other six they will have to participate in a preliminary round knockout round.

The report also suggests that the UAFA are willing to invest up to $27 million in the upcoming edition, that is set to kick-off next October. The final will take place in April 2020 in Rabat, Morocco.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.



More in International Football News