Connect with us

African Football News

Zamalek’s Boutaib included in Morocco’s final squad for AFCON

Photo: Jalal Morchidi/Anadolu Agency/Getty Images

national team manager Herve Renard unveiled their 23-man squad which included striker , ahead of the 2019 .

The squad saw the exclusion of Hebein China Fortune FC forward Ayoub El Kaabi who represented them in last year’s World Cup in Russia.

Schalke youngster Amine Harit also failed to make the cut as well as Hassania Agadir’s Abdelkarim Baadi. RS Berkane goalkeeper Anas Zniti, who was called-up to replace injured Abelali Mhamdi, was also left-out.

The Atlas lions were drawn in a significantly strong group alongside African powerhouse Ivory Coast as well as South Africa and Namibia.

Full Squad:

Goalkeepers: Mounir El Kajoui (Malaga), Yassine Bounou (Girona), Ahmed Reda Tagnaouti (Wydad Casablanca)

Defenders: Marouane Da Costa (Ittihad Jeddah), Ghanem Saiss (Wolverhampton), Mehdi Benatia (Al-Duhail Sports), Achraf Hakimi (Dortmund), Abdelhamid Yunis (Stade de Reims), Noussair Mazroaui (Ajax), Abdelkarim Baadi (Hassania d’Agadir).

Midfielders: Karim El Ahmadi (Al Ittihad, Saudi Arabia), Youssef Aït Bennasser (Saint Etienne), Moubarak Boussoufa (Al-Shabab), Younes Belhanda (Galatasaray), Faycal Fajr (Caen), Mehdi Bourabia (Sassuolo), Nordin Amrabat (Al-Nasr), Hakim Ziyech (Ajax), Youssef El-Nesyri (Leganes), Nabil Dirar (Fenerbache).

Forwards: Khalid Boutaïb (Zamalek), Soufiane Boufal (Celta Vigo), Osama Idrissi (AZ Alkmaar).

UPDATE: Abdelkarim Baadi has replaced Abderrazak Hamdallah who drops out due to injury.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.



More in African Football News