Connect with us

Beyond Borders

Egypt’s AFCON opponents: Uganda name final 23-man squad

Egypt's AFCON opponents: Uganda name final 23-man squad

Photo: Aminah Babirye

Egypt’s AFCON group opponents have named their final 23-man which will feature in the final tournament.

The Cranes were drawn in group A alongside hosts Egypt, DR Congo, and Zimbabwe. They will start their campaign by facing DR Congo on June 22, before playing Zimbabwe and Egypt on June 26 and June 30 respectively.

READ: Egypt favourites for 2019 AFCON, says Uganda coach Sebastien Desabre

Former Ismaily head coach  had initially named a provisional squad, which saw the inclusion of Egypt based striker Daniel Isiagi, who plies his trade at Cairo-based club Al Nasr.

However, the 23-year-old striker was snubbed from the final list and was replaced by Smouha’s Derrick Nsibambi, who has three goals to his name in this season’s Egyptian Premier League.

Former Tala’ea El-Gaish midfielder Hassan Wasswa was also included in the squad despite being without a club since last January after being released by the military club.

Mamelodi Sundowns’ Denis Onyango, Sweden born Brian Mukiibi, Yeovil Town’s Bevis Mugabi, Faruku Miya, Joseph Ochaya, and Isaac Muleme are some of the names, who play outside of Uganda.

Full squad:

Goalkeepers: Denis Onyango (Mamelodi Sundowns, South Africa), Jamal Salim (Al Hilal-Sudan), Robert Odongkara (Adama City, Ethiopia).

Defenders: Nico Wakiro Wadada (Azam, Tanzania), Brian Ronald Ddungu Mukiibi (Ostersunds, Sweden), Murushid Jjuuko (Simba, Tanzania), Bevis Mugabi (Yeovil Town, England), Isaac Muleme (FK Viktoria Zizkov, Czech Republic), Hassan Wasswa Mawanda (Un-attached), Joseph Ochaya (TP Mazembe, DR Congo), Timothy Denis Awanyi (KCCA FC, Uganda), Godfrey Walusimbi (Un-attached).

Midfielders:  Mike Azira (Montreal Impact, Canada), Allan Kateregga (Maritzburg, South Africa), William Kizito Luwagga (Shakhter Karagandy, Kazakhstan), Khalid Aucho (Church Hill Brothers, India), Faruku Miya (HNK Gorica, Croatia), Abdul Lumala (Syrianska, Sweden), Tadeo Lwanga (Vipers SC-Uganda).

Strikers: Patrick Henry Kaddu (KCCA FC, Uganda), Derrick Nsibambi (Smouha, Egypt), Allan Kyambadde (KCCA FC Uganda), Emmanuel Arnold Okwi (Simba, Tanzania).

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.



More in Beyond Borders