Connect with us

Beyond Borders

CAF announce 2022 World Cup qualifiers format

The Confederation of African Football () have announced the new format of the qualifiers.

The 2022 World Cup will take place in Qatar and it will be the last of its kind as it will host 32 countries, as starting 2026 the tournament will see the participation of 48 teams.

The tournament format will be as follows:

The 26 highest ranked teams (according to FIFA) will be exempted from the preliminary round. As for the remaining 28, the 14 highest ranked teams will face the 14 lowest.

Then the 14 winning teams will participate in the group stages alongside the 26 highest ranked teams in the continent. They will be divided into 10 groups of four teams.

Finally, each group leaders will face each other in the knockout stages, where the five highest ranked teams will face the remaining five.



  1. Ali G.

    July 12, 2019 at 3:58 PM

    Egypt should forget the next World cup 2022 and focus on the World cup 2102 😀 😀

  2. Evans

    July 12, 2019 at 6:59 PM

    this is corruption when will a team like Zanzibar or southern Sudan make it even the officiating iself

  3. mangisha

    July 13, 2019 at 8:06 AM

    and how many team should qualify

  4. Ahmed

    July 13, 2019 at 6:26 PM

    Why does CAF keep changing the format? Can’t they stick to a format like other confederations do?

    Deciding the fate of all the World Cup participants by knockout is not fair. You can have a team win all there games during qualifications but mess up just one game (i.e. Ghana v Egypt) and they’re out. The 2018 format was the best.

  5. Lungu Pondo

    July 15, 2019 at 7:27 PM

    Too bad. Only the Giants are needed. It is a blockade to smaller nations in football.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.



More in Beyond Borders